Frequently Asked Questions

  • What is the compulsory school age in Ohio?

    • Children must attend school or comply with the homeschool laws between the ages of 6 and 18 years. Ohio statutes establish that a child is of compulsory school age if the child is 6 years old on or before the day school starts in the school district where a child resides. Although most do not, local school boards are authorized to establish guidelines on a district-by-district basis. www.HSLDA.org 

  • Who could be a mutually agreed upon assessor?

    • a child’s occupational, physical or speech therapist

    • a person overseeing an apprenticeship 

    • anyone that the superintendent and parent agrees on

 

  • What does ‘brief’ mean in regards to outlines?

    • not an exhaustive list

 

  • Who determines grade level if I want to put my child back into public school?

    • the superintendent determines grade level

 

  • Do I need to provide an assessment if I enroll my child in school during the school year?

    • You are not required to provide an assessment unless the superintendent chooses that method to determine grade level for your child.

  • What if an assessment indicates that my child is not demonstrating reasonable proficiency?

    • There are provisions made for remediation in 3301-34-05.

  • What if we move districts or out of state during the school year?

    • Within Ohio: Contact the superintendent of your district in writing and request that a copy of your notice of intent and related documents be forwarded to the superintendent of your new district. The forward of information request shall satisfy the notification requirements outlined in paragraphs (A) and (C) in OAC 3301-34-03.

    • Out of state: Notify your local superintendent in writing that you are moving out of the state and will provide proper notification according to the laws of your new state.
       

  • When is notification “due”?

    • Due to a change to the homeschool regulations, notification must now be submitted to the superintendent of your local school no later than the first week of the start of the public school building the child would attend in the school district of residence or within one week of the date on which the child begins to reside in the district* or within one week from the child’s withdrawal from a school

    • *If you are moving districts within Ohio contact the superintendent of your district in writing and request that a copy of your notice of intent and related documents be forwarded to the superintendent of your new district. The forward of information request shall satisfy the notification requirements outlined in paragraphs (A) and (C) in OAC 3301-34-03.

 

  • How do I withdraw my child from school in order to homeschool?

    • Notify the principal of your child’s school in writing that you are withdrawing your child for the purposes of home education.

    • Submit your letter of intent and both brief outlines to the superintendent of your local schools within one week of withdrawing your child from the school building.

    • You may begin homeschooling immediately; there is no need to wait for the excusal letter. You must, however, submit your notice of intent to homeschool along with the required lists of textbooks and curriculum to the superintendent of your district within one week of taking your child out of school.

  • What about diplomas?

    • A person who has completed the final year of instruction at home under ORC 3321.04 may be granted a high school diploma by the parent, guardian or other person having charge or care of the child.

    • A diploma issued in accordance with these rules will fulfill any and all legal requirement to show proof of high school completion for employers or colleges.